Monday, July 2, 2012

Review - Robert Asprin's Myth Series

Ok so I have been pondering how to best introduce my readers to some of my favorite book series. The ones I read, and reread over and over because I love them that much. So I decided to review the entire series instead of just one book at a time. Queue really grainy picture....

So this picture includes all oft he MYTH novels I have actually read and own. I will admit I have gotten a little behind and have some catching up to do. That being said, this is one of the best light read series I have ever run across. You know that feeling when you really just want a good chuckle that you don't have to think to hard with. That is what this series is all about.

The stories mostly revolve around Skeeve, Aahz and their band of merry adventurers. High in puns (well crafted so as to be not too annoying), and adventure you follow the characters across multiple dimensions and into many different kinds of trouble. Skeeve is the perfect example of the "fake it till you make it" principle and his teacher and later partner Aahz is the perfect straight man for the comedy duo.

If you have a couple of hours to kill take my advice and pick up one of these amazing adventures. You will be hooked before you know it.

PS Fair warning, do no read where it would be innapropriate to actually laugh out loud.

5/5 -- In loving memory of Robert Asprin 1946-2008

Sunday, June 17, 2012

Holly Lisle - Sympathy for the Devil

I first read this trilogy around 15 years ago. It took me nearly that long to collect the books since they have been out of print since before that. The fact that I looked for so long is a recommendation in and of itself but this is a fast fun read that also makes you think a bit.

In this book Dayne Kunter is a nurse who has absolute faith in god. She is sick and tired of doctors ordering her to save patients who were already dead, saving people who don't want the help and most of all angry that God doesn't seem to give those that end up in hell like her recently deceased husband a second chance. So she sends up a defiant prayer asking god to give the denizens of Hell the chance at redemption.  God grants all prayers made in absolute faith and sincerity and decides to grant her prayer... in his own way.

If you can find a copy I definitely recommend this book as a great summer afternoon read. 4/5

Thursday, May 31, 2012

Garth Nix - Lirael

In the second book of the Abhorsen series we meet the next generation of the Old Kingdom. The two main characters are Lirael who is a daughter of the Clayr, and Sameth the son of Sabriel and Touchstone.

 I love how in very different ways you see how each of them struggles with feeling like they don't belong in the role which they are assigned. Lirael desperately wants to be a full member of the Clayr like her mother. Sameth struggles to fill his mothers role as Abhorsen while secretly detesting the very thought. In this book you watch them each grow into their future rolls as their paths converge on their quests.

I loved this series and wholeheartedly recommend it to others looking for a good fantasy read. 4/5

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Sookie Stackhouse - Deadlocked

Ah the delightful world of Ms Sookie Stackhouse. While I am a fan of the True Blood tv series there is no comparison to the in depth lively plots of Charlaine Harris' books. True to form Deadlocked is fast pace fun with plenty of mayhem to go around. If you haven't already, I heartily recommend picking up this series.

In the latest installment poor Sookie is dealing with major vampire politics, as well as a mystery someone out to get her. I have to admit I was surprized by this one and I won't ruin the ending by saying any more. My vote 4/5 stars

Thursday, May 10, 2012

While I have always been a reader the first Author I truly started following was Mercedes Lackey. It was Jr High and my boyfriend at the time introduced me to the world of Valdemar with the Last Herald Mage trilogy. Little did I know that was a hint about him but that is a story for another time. I was deeply in love with the world, the characters, and being a teenage girl... talking white horses. Lackey has gone on to write over three dozen books in this universe and countless books in other worlds as well. She took a good long break from Valdemar but her latest series reminded me how much I missed it and I can't wait for the next book.

The Collegium Chronicles fit into a gap in the timeline of Valdemar and follow the life of an orphan named Mags as he gets chosen as a Herald and is one of the first students to attend the Collegium in Haven. By book three Changes he is a well developed character with a great supporting cast. This book continues plot from the series so I wont go into much detail except to say that I really enjoyed it and would recommend the series to both old and new fans of Valdemar.

5/5 stars

Thursday, May 3, 2012

I love the feeling when a new author works out. It is like being introduced to a new friend. I have a good feeling that Garth Nix is going to be a lifelong friend and he has already earned a place on my bookshelf. Unfortunately since this was a loaner from a friend I will have to buy it... and the other two books in the trilogy.

The book is set in two countries Ancelstierre which has technology and no magic and the Old Kingdom, where magic works and technology beyond the middle ages doesn't. Near the border technology and magic both work erratically and it is in this gray area that Sabriel grows up, placed in an Ancelstierre boarding school by her father.

Part of the magic of the old kingdom is necromancy and it is this type of magic that weaves an engrossing and rich tapestry throughout the story. As she is called away from school to rescue her father and both kingdoms from the looming dangers of a rogue necromancer.

I heartily recommend this author and have already begun (and almost finished the second) book in the trilogy. I promise I will review that one soon but I will try and throw a different author in between.

My Rating 4/5

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

The words "Hunger Games" "Panem" and "May the odds be ever in your favor" have spread across America like the fire of Katniss Everdeen. Even my own daughter was singing the praises of this series long before the blockbuster movie.

I managed to finish the first book just before the movie and I will admit it was pretty good. Not keep me up all night reading good, but fairly well written and an intriguing concept. For me the series really took off in book two and I certainly stayed up late to finish that one. By the time I got to Mockingjay I could barely stand to put it down and in fact when I finished it this morning I was in tears because I had become so connected to the characters and their struggle. Whether or not you liked the first book I recommend reading all three because the story just continues to build to a phenomenal climax that will tear your heart out and leave you wanting more.

4/5 stars